Super Bowl and musings

As I write this, Packers are ahead by 4. A little background: I used to be unable to stand football, let alone watch a whole game. When we got a large screen HD TV a few years ago, I began watching more sports and actually enjoy it now! And yes, I watched some of the Puppy Bowl too! In fact, I helped our hospital host a “tailgating” puppy bowl party yesterday afternoon, and it was really fun. I mean REALLY fun!! We had a total of 7 dogs and 12 people, which far surpassed my expectations.

Why were my expectations so low? I had done essentially nothing to promote the event. Even the decision to host the event was rather last-minute, and little to no preparations were made. My main impetus for doing the puppy bowl party at all was to show our support for the American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA). Ever since AAHA started their “Practice of the Year Awards”, I can’t let go of the feeling that we have such a great hospital and I want AAHA (and everyone else) to know it! Even if we were to win some kind of award, I wouldn’t want that to change our behavior–we should always strive to be the best and demonstrate our commitment to AAHA.

We announced our plans to host the tailgating party in a mass email that went out approximately 2 weeks beforehand and on our Facebook page. Didn’t ask for an RSVP (which probably wouldn’t have made a difference anyway–people either RSVP and don’t show up or show up without RSVPing). I was afraid no one would come and that my two volunteers would be bored and annoyed that I asked for their help. But as it turned out, we were busy taking pictures, guarding the cake table (most of the dogs were too short, but some noses were trying to get up there!) and having fun watching the dogs play. In retrospect, I’m glad we didn’t have more attendees because it might have been too much.

Lesson learned: minimal preparation + AAHA-supported event = easy fun!

I’d be interested to hear from my counterparts (in school and out) what your thoughts are on the Puppy Bowl, AAHA, and social events held at the hospital.

1 Comment

Filed under AAHA-related

One response to “Super Bowl and musings

  1. Vogue Vet

    Wow, that sounds like a great idea! I think community-building events like that are beneficial for the hospital in more ways than one–builds rapport with existing clients, gets the word out to non-clients, and improves employee morale. I’m glad you’re so happy with your clinic!

Leave a Reply

