Great discussion on the physical consequences of declawing

As a member of the International Veterinary Academy of Pain Management (IVAPM), I enjoy following the many interesting discussions on this favorite topic of mine. Today, a post on the discussion forum caught my attention, and I want you to check it out:

Physical Consequences of Declawing by Dr. Jean Hofve of Little Big Cat

This illustrated post shows how removing P3 shifts P2 into a weight-bearing position, and over time, the tendons contract, the cat walks differently, and arthritis develops. It definitely gives you some things to think about.

Dr. Hofve posted some additional articles/resources on the topic of declawing, which you should also check out:

I have performed declaws myself, but it has been awhile. I do not like doing them, and I try hard to talk people out of it, but I like that I can present this additional information to owners (especially the pictorial guide) and give another perspective.

1 Comment

Filed under Today I Learned

One response to “Great discussion on the physical consequences of declawing

  1. Cee

    You might also like The Paw Project Movie, a documentary, http://pawprojectmovie.com/ .

Leave a Reply

