Why I Love Veterinary Medicine: Reason #2

GSU Library 8

Photo Credit: Georgia State University Library

I love veterinary medicine because I love learning.  This quote by Mahatma Gandhi captures my sentiment best:

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

 

I didn’t always feel this way. Ironically, while I was in school, I would say I bordered more on hating school. But school and learning are different. Vet school in particular, as they say, is like “trying to drink water from a fire hose”. It is NOT enjoyable. Vet school represents a finite amount of pain and suffering, which you must endure so you can have the rest of your life to love learning.

Even before vet school–elementary school through high school and college–I never considered myself (and still don’t) one of the “smarties” who always had her head in a book, latched onto every science show, and wanted to learn and understand everything. I only need to spend five minutes around someone who’s really smart to be reminded of how little, in fact, I know.

Except for maybe a handful of moments that occur every year, where I am surrounded by ultra-smart people who unintentionally make me feel abysmally average, I am comfortable with not knowing all that much. If I were too caught up in feeling inadequate, I would feel less motivated to learn, not more. As it is, I’ve come to love learning, and I am always learning something new every day. (Hence the name of this blog, see? 🙂 )

5 Comments

Filed under Why I Love Veterinary Medicine

5 responses to “Why I Love Veterinary Medicine: Reason #2

  1. Well said, I really needed this today as I am on the end of the fire hose with the water coming out full power 🙂
    Glad to have inspiring words to keep getting through it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hi! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’m glad you did- yours is really neat, and I’m looking forward to reading it. 🙂

  3. Well said! I have heard that vet school teaches you HOW to learn and how to think like a veterinary scientist, not everything you need to know. Makes me feel better cuz I missed a lot in the four year unrelenting, overwhelming fire hydrant blast that I am still learning about – and yeah, now it is fun!

Leave a comment